Welcome Login

Electrotechnical Assessment Specification

This Electrotechnical Assessment Specification (EAS) replaces the previous EAS (July 2015) and is intended for use by Certification and Registration Bodies undertaking the Assessment of Enterprises carrying out Electrotechnical work. The January 2020 EAS comes into effect from the 1 September 2020 but can be used voluntarily before that date.

The Electrotechnical Assessment Specification (EAS) describes:

  • The minimum requirements for an enterprise (e.g, contractor) to be recognised by a certification body as competent to undertake electrotechnical work. It includes the minimum technical competence requirements for enterprises to be considered competent to carry out electrical installation work in dwellings in accordance with Part P of the building regulations in England & Wales.
  • The competence requirements for registered Qualified Supervisors and of electrical inspectors.
  • Requirements for compliance with the Scottish building standards.
  • Interpretation of the general requirements for bodies operating product certification (including process and service) schemes to ISO/IEC17065
  • Notes of the main amendments to the EAS are listed on Page 2 of the document

The EAS has been prepared by a management committee that includes representatives of the competent person scheme providers, trade associations, the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government, the Welsh Government, Electrical Safety First and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The IET provides administrative support to the EAS Management Committee and provides for the publication of the standard on its website.

The EAS is provided for download in PDF format free of charge for use by Certification and Registration Bodies and Enterprises carrying out Electrical installation work and may be quoted in other documents if an attribution to the source is made.

The specification is prepared as part of the support of the electrical industry (and other interested parties) in introducing electrical safety and competence into the Building Regulations.

November 2015

EAS 15-362 (July 2015) replaces EAS 15-350 (February 2015).

A new appendix covers the requirements for those undertaking the role of Qualified Supervisor or responsible person. Also references to BSEN 45011 have been removed and replaced with ISO/IEC 17065, and Appendix 8 has been revised.

February 2015

EAS 15-350 (February 2015) replaces EAS 12-304 (October 2012).

Principally a new appendix has been added to modify certain criteria of the scheme document to allow for the entertainment and events industry.

Any changes to the EAS 12-304 (October 2012) are indicated by the use of side bars.

October 2012

EAS document 12-304 - Oct 2012 came into effect on 6 April 2013.

Level 3 qualification for new “Qualified Supervisors”, EAS Press release Oct 2012.

The EAS management committee agreed to delay the implementation of the new Qualified Supervisors technical competence requirements until 6 April 2013. The new qualification is expected to produce better and safer working practices within the electrical installations industry.