IET logo

Electrotechnical Assessment Specification (EAS)

The EAS details the minimum requirements against which an enterprise (eg, an electrical contractor) is to be assessed to determine competence to carry-out electrical installation work.

The Electrotechnical Assessment Specification

November 2015

EAS 15-362 (July 2015) [PDF] replaces EAS 15-350 (February 2015).

A new appendix covers the requirements for those undertaking the role of Qualified Supervisor or responsible person. Also references to BSEN 45011 have been removed and replaced with ISO/IEC 17065, and Appendix 8 has been revised.

February 2015

EAS 15-350 (February 2015) [PDF] replaces EAS 12-304 (October 2012).

Principally a new appendix has been added to modify certain criteria of the scheme document to allow for the entertainment and events industry.

Any changes to the EAS 12-304 (October 2012) are indicated by the use of side bars.

October 2012

EAS document 12-304 - Oct 2012 [PDF] came into effect on 6 April 2013.

Level 3 qualification for new “Qualified Supervisors”, EAS Press release Oct 2012 [PDF].

The EAS management committee agreed to delay the implementation of the new Qualified Supervisors technical competence requirements till 6th April 2013. The new qualification is expected to produce better and safer working practices within the electrical installations industry.


The Electrotechnical Assessment Specification (EAS) describes:

  • The minimum requirements for an enterprise (eg, contractor) to be recognised by a certification body as competent to undertake electrical installation work, (design, construction, installation and verification) in England and Wales. It includes the minimum technical competence requirements for enterprises to be considered competent to carry out electrical installation work in dwellings in accordance with Part P of the building regulations.
  • The competence requirements for registered Qualified Supervisors and Responsible Persons of the competent enterprises.
  • Particular requirements for compliance with the Scottish building standards.
  • Interpretation of the general requirements for bodies operating product certification (including process and service) schemes of BS EN 45011.
  • The EAS has been prepared by a management committee that it includes representatives of the competent person scheme providers, trade associations, the department for Communities and Local Government, the Electrical Safety Council and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The IET has accepted ownership of the specification, and provides administrative support to the management committee.

The specification was prepared as part of the support of the electrical industry (and other interested parties) in introducing electrical safety in to the Building Regulations.

The Electrotechnical Assessment Specification is published by the IET, and is available for download in PDF format (see right).